The Depths of Destiny

I've been playing a lot of Destiny 2 over the past days. I got really into it a month or two ago when it was available for free for a short time. I started off, taking my time while playing through the story missions. I did some exploring, participated in a few public events, put in the work on some bounties for the first few 'planets'. However, the farther into the story I got, the more I just wanted to finish it. I actually really enjoyed the main storyline. Compared to the first one, it was a world apart. Maybe I'm misremembering Destiny 1, but I had some deep issues with it. We'll save that rant for (possibly) another time. Again, I liked the storyline of D2. Your home is more or less destroyed, and having to regain your strength and take it back was awesome. I didn't like that the worlds and the missions on them seem to get bigger and farther apart. Are they really bigger? I don't know. But I know I got tired of running from Point A to Point B. Story-wise, it seems pretty weak to not give you a Sparrow early on. I get it, we haven't rendezvoused with the shipwright yet, but surely there is a mostly working one, or enough parts to put one together somewhere around the EDZ. I knew from friends that I'd finally get my Sparrow upon completing the main story quests. So that became my goal. Since completing that, I've been playing less, the last few days excluded. I've done a little grinding for bounties, played through some of the Adventures and one or two quests. But now? Well, I've been playing Strikes with a friend. And man, oh man, is Destiny more fun with a friend. I've had trouble getting anyone to play because work and life schedules just don't ever seem to match up. But, they have recently, and it's been great! The Strikes are a lot of fun, and (at least for the moment) do not feel like the exact same fight every time. Each one has been a little different experience. That may well change as I play them more in the coming weeks, but right now, they are great. Today, I spent a lot of time going around a few 'planets' and completing all the Lost Sectors I could and finding all the Regional Chests. Typically the chests don't have much going on. Head into a cave, or over this rock you might never think to look behind and you've got it. The Sectors, on the other hand, are just. . . phenomenal. These are truly the depths of Destiny. Firstly, so many of them are incredibly beautiful, often far more than the rest of the map. Maybe because I've seen all the other areas of the map hundreds of times. The Lost Sectors I'm seeing for the first time in most cases. They are also really well designed. I mean this gameplay wise. In most cases, you don't have to backtrack through a labyrinthine cave or anything to get close to the entrance. There is usually a hidden route or a door that takes you from the final chest back to the beginning. A few of them don't, but they have all been short tunnels to big rooms with baddies, with little to no chance of getting lost or turned around. They are all so very interesting too. Again, maybe its because I've seen the main areas so much, but it's awesome to see all these cool 'new' areas of these worlds that you don't get to see when playing just the storyline. There were more cool mines and gorgeous caves in the EDZ, and a great look at the methane ocean of Titan from below the surface. Honestly, they are area's I'd like to go back and visit again. I'd even take a friend and show them, not to complete the Sector or get the loot, just to take a look around. I'm getting excited just thinking about it and realizing how much I enjoyed taking the time to go through all those areas. If you have Destiny 2, and you haven't yet, I encourage you to check them out. You may not get a good drop, but you might have some fun, even just looking around.